Kristopher Cook https://kristophercook.com Contemporary Book Blog Sat, 18 Jan 2020 12:10:43 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.3.2 142790040 The Outsider by Albert Camus https://kristophercook.com/the-outsider-by-albert-camus-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-outsider-by-albert-camus-book-review/#respond Thu, 16 Jan 2020 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5544

The story of a troubled individual following the troubled path of existentialism down a slippery hole.

The Outsider by Albert Camus can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-outsider-by-albert-camus-book-review/feed/ 0 5544
Ring by Kōji Suzuki https://kristophercook.com/ring-by-koji-suzuki-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/ring-by-koji-suzuki-book-review/#respond Thu, 09 Jan 2020 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5543

An excellent suspense-horror that centres around the curse unleashed by a single videotape when watched.

Ring by Kōji Suzuki can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/ring-by-koji-suzuki-book-review/feed/ 0 5543
In the Dark by Loreth Anne White https://kristophercook.com/in-the-dark-by-loreth-anne-white-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/in-the-dark-by-loreth-anne-white-book-review/#respond Thu, 02 Jan 2020 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5542

The promise of a luxury vacation at a secluded wilderness spa has brought together eight lucky guests. But nothing is what they were led to believe. It’s a trap!

In the Dark by Loreth Anne White can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/in-the-dark-by-loreth-anne-white-book-review/feed/ 0 5542
Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin https://kristophercook.com/rosemarys-baby-by-ira-levin-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/rosemarys-baby-by-ira-levin-book-review/#respond Thu, 26 Dec 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5482

The Gothic horror of a young woman and her constant struggle with reality.

Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/rosemarys-baby-by-ira-levin-book-review/feed/ 0 5482
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov https://kristophercook.com/lolita-by-vladimir-nabokov-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/lolita-by-vladimir-nabokov-book-review/#respond Thu, 19 Dec 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5478

A love affair breaks out between a man and his 12-year-old step-daughter. Bringing controversy from every direction, this is Lolita.

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/lolita-by-vladimir-nabokov-book-review/feed/ 0 5478
The Room by Hubert Selby Jr. https://kristophercook.com/the-room-by-hubert-selby-jr-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-room-by-hubert-selby-jr-book-review/#respond Thu, 12 Dec 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5480

The ramblings of an old man who believes he’s been wrongfully convicted. Bestiality, rape, murder; it’s all here.

The Room by Hubert Selby Jr. can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-room-by-hubert-selby-jr-book-review/feed/ 0 5480
Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey by Chuck Palahniuk https://kristophercook.com/rant-an-oral-biography-of-buster-casey-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/rant-an-oral-biography-of-buster-casey-book-review/#respond Thu, 05 Dec 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5476

Time travelling kids and complex plots, it can only be the oral history of Buster Casey.

Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey by Chuck Palahniuk can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/rant-an-oral-biography-of-buster-casey-book-review/feed/ 0 5476
Private Dancer by Stephen Leather https://kristophercook.com/private-dancer-by-stephen-leather-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/private-dancer-by-stephen-leather-book-review/#respond Thu, 28 Nov 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=5484

Pete, a British Journalist, is sent to Thailand to report on the various tourist points for a new travel book. Upon arrival he quickly falls into the Sex Tourist trap.

Private Dancer by Stephen Leather can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/private-dancer-by-stephen-leather-book-review/feed/ 0 5484