Kristopher Cook https://kristophercook.com Eclectic Book Blog Thu, 18 Apr 2019 11:03:03 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.1.1 142790040 Penance by Kanae Minato https://kristophercook.com/penance-by-kanae-minato-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/penance-by-kanae-minato-book-review/#respond Thu, 18 Apr 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3542

In Japan, Minato, has been given the moniker, ‘the Queen of Iyamisu’, meaning eww mystery. Iyamisu is a sub-genre of crime fiction that focuses on the dark and grotesque side of human nature.

The post Penance by Kanae Minato appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/penance-by-kanae-minato-book-review/feed/ 0 3542
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream by Hunter S. Thompson https://kristophercook.com/fear-and-loathing-in-las-vegas-by-hunter-s-thompson-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/fear-and-loathing-in-las-vegas-by-hunter-s-thompson-book-review/#respond Thu, 11 Apr 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3541

Anyone who’s read this book will see why Thompson has such a cult following, and I don’t mean that as a backhanded compliment.

The post Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream by Hunter S. Thompson appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/fear-and-loathing-in-las-vegas-by-hunter-s-thompson-book-review/feed/ 0 3541
The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks https://kristophercook.com/the-wasp-factory-by-iain-banks-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-wasp-factory-by-iain-banks-book-review/#respond Thu, 04 Apr 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3616

The Wasp Factory comes from Frank’s invention of a house of mirrors, except instead of it being a fun room, it’s a torture device.

The post The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-wasp-factory-by-iain-banks-book-review/feed/ 0 3616
Atomic Habits by James Clear https://kristophercook.com/atomic-habits-by-james-clear-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/atomic-habits-by-james-clear-book-review/#respond Thu, 28 Mar 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3525

The book aims to give the reader the foundations needed to create small daily habits. These daily habits gradually add up over time and will cause huge change over time.

The post Atomic Habits by James Clear appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/atomic-habits-by-james-clear-book-review/feed/ 0 3525
Gerald’s Game by Stephen King https://kristophercook.com/geralds-game-by-stephen-king-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/geralds-game-by-stephen-king-book-review/#respond Thu, 21 Mar 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3486

Often seen as one Stephen King's worst book, is Gerald's Game that bad? In fact it might just turn out to be a suspenseful thriller in disguise!

The post Gerald’s Game by Stephen King appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/geralds-game-by-stephen-king-book-review/feed/ 0 3486
The Bat by Jo Nesbø https://kristophercook.com/the-bat-by-jo-nesbo-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-bat-by-jo-nesbo-book-review/#comments Thu, 14 Mar 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3465

Famous for his Harry Hole (pronounced Holy) series, Nesbø has quite the reputation for his police detective run.

The post The Bat by Jo Nesbø appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-bat-by-jo-nesbo-book-review/feed/ 1 3465
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn https://kristophercook.com/sharp-objects-by-gillian-flynn-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/sharp-objects-by-gillian-flynn-book-review/#comments Thu, 07 Mar 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3443

Sharp Objects is an excellent introduction to Gillian Flynn’s work; a profoundly thought-provoking thriller that gets under your skin from the first few chapters.

The post Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/sharp-objects-by-gillian-flynn-book-review/feed/ 1 3443
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson https://kristophercook.com/the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-book-review/#respond Thu, 28 Feb 2019 08:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3315

Originally titled 'Men Who Hate Women', The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo holds onto this focal point like a bad dream.

The post The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-book-review/feed/ 0 3315