Kristopher Cook https://kristophercook.com Contemporary Book Blog Wed, 19 Jun 2019 09:41:11 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.2.2 142790040 The Woman in the Dunes by Kōbō Abe https://kristophercook.com/the-woman-in-the-dunes-by-kobo-abe-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-woman-in-the-dunes-by-kobo-abe-book-review/#respond Thu, 20 Jun 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=4097

Palpable tension and genuine investment in the characters, makes The Woman in the Dunes an excellent read.

The Woman in the Dunes by Kōbō Abe can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-woman-in-the-dunes-by-kobo-abe-book-review/feed/ 0 4097
Needful Things by Stephen King https://kristophercook.com/needful-things-by-stephen-king-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/needful-things-by-stephen-king-book-review/#respond Thu, 13 Jun 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=4096

There's a new shop in town, and it sells everything your heart could desire. The price... why just a simple trick of course.

Needful Things by Stephen King can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/needful-things-by-stephen-king-book-review/feed/ 0 4096
No Exit by Jean-Paul Sartre https://kristophercook.com/no-exit-by-jean-paul-sartre-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/no-exit-by-jean-paul-sartre-book-review/#respond Thu, 06 Jun 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=4095

In summary, No Exit is a strange piece of literature to recommend. On the one hand it’s well written, concise and has deep meaning, and on the other, it can be deemed too surrealist to the point of becoming almost mundane.

No Exit by Jean-Paul Sartre can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/no-exit-by-jean-paul-sartre-book-review/feed/ 0 4095
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami https://kristophercook.com/what-i-talk-about-when-i-talk-about-running-summary/ https://kristophercook.com/what-i-talk-about-when-i-talk-about-running-summary/#respond Thu, 30 May 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=4094

Having competed in over twenty marathons, with an ultramarathon (62 miles) to his name, Murakami sits down to tell us all what he was thinking.

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/what-i-talk-about-when-i-talk-about-running-summary/feed/ 0 4094
Dark Places by Gillian Flynn https://kristophercook.com/dark-places-by-gillian-flynn-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/dark-places-by-gillian-flynn-book-review/#respond Thu, 23 May 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3797

Sinister murders and devil worshipping family members; just another day in the life of the Day family.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/dark-places-by-gillian-flynn-book-review/feed/ 0 3797
Hell’s Half Acre by Will Christopher Baer https://kristophercook.com/hells-half-acre-by-will-christopher-baer-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/hells-half-acre-by-will-christopher-baer-book-review/#respond Thu, 16 May 2019 09:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3754

The final book in Baer's Phineas Poe series, about an ex-cop taking on the violent world around him.

Hell’s Half Acre by Will Christopher Baer can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/hells-half-acre-by-will-christopher-baer-book-review/feed/ 0 3754
The Hellbound Heart by Clive Barker https://kristophercook.com/the-hellbound-heart-by-clive-barker-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-hellbound-heart-by-clive-barker-book-review/#respond Thu, 09 May 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3753

One of my favourite horror books. The Hellbound Heart is gruesome, gritty, and oh so enjoyable.

The Hellbound Heart by Clive Barker can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-hellbound-heart-by-clive-barker-book-review/feed/ 0 3753
Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind https://kristophercook.com/perfume-the-story-of-a-murderer-book-analysis/ https://kristophercook.com/perfume-the-story-of-a-murderer-book-analysis/#respond Thu, 02 May 2019 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=3544

Grenouille recognises that each individual has their own human scent. He begins to lusts for the perfect scent; not only one that will make him more human but a smell that will give him total power.

Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind can be found at Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/perfume-the-story-of-a-murderer-book-analysis/feed/ 0 3544