Kristopher Cook https://kristophercook.com Eclectic Book Blog Wed, 12 Dec 2018 12:58:04 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.0 142790040 Requiem for a Dream by Hubert Selby Jr https://kristophercook.com/requiem-for-a-dream-by-hubert-selby-jr-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/requiem-for-a-dream-by-hubert-selby-jr-book-review/#respond Thu, 06 Dec 2018 08:00:09 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=2203

Requiem for a Dream runs through a couple of themes, but none more obvious than drug addiction. This book is a full onslaught of your senses.

The post Requiem for a Dream by Hubert Selby Jr appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/requiem-for-a-dream-by-hubert-selby-jr-book-review/feed/ 0 2203
Carrie by Stephen King https://kristophercook.com/carrie-by-stephen-king-book-summary/ https://kristophercook.com/carrie-by-stephen-king-book-summary/#respond Thu, 22 Nov 2018 08:00:53 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=2003

In this summary of Stephen King's first published book, Carrie, you'll find out why her traumatic events help us relate to her more.

The post Carrie by Stephen King appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/carrie-by-stephen-king-book-summary/feed/ 0 2003
The Ground Beneath Her Feet by Salman Rushdie https://kristophercook.com/the-ground-beneath-her-feet-by-salman-rushdie-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-ground-beneath-her-feet-by-salman-rushdie-book-review/#respond Thu, 08 Nov 2018 08:00:02 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=2040

Rushdie, at the time, was very much the ‘poster boy’ of free expression in a world of heavy censorship. Reading his books in 2018, almost 20 years after the Iranian government lifted their death sentence on him; it’s worth noting the different times.

The post The Ground Beneath Her Feet by Salman Rushdie appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-ground-beneath-her-feet-by-salman-rushdie-book-review/feed/ 0 2040
Choke by Chuck Palahniuk https://kristophercook.com/choke-by-chuck-palahniuk/ https://kristophercook.com/choke-by-chuck-palahniuk/#respond Thu, 25 Oct 2018 07:00:14 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=1699

Off-the-wall characters and obscene plot scenarios you know exactly what you’re getting. As long as you don’t go into this one with too serious a mindset then I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

The post Choke by Chuck Palahniuk appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/choke-by-chuck-palahniuk/feed/ 0 1699
American Pastoral by Philip Roth https://kristophercook.com/american-pastoral-by-philip-roth/ https://kristophercook.com/american-pastoral-by-philip-roth/#respond Thu, 11 Oct 2018 07:00:39 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=1832

One of Philip Roth's most famous novels; discussing his usual topics of Jewish culture and struggling to fit in, he takes us on a wild ride.

The post American Pastoral by Philip Roth appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/american-pastoral-by-philip-roth/feed/ 0 1832
The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco https://kristophercook.com/the-name-of-the-rose-by-umberto-eco-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/the-name-of-the-rose-by-umberto-eco-book-review/#respond Thu, 27 Sep 2018 07:00:01 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=1661

The Name of the Rose explores themes of Herecy, Deciept, and Corruption within the walls of a 1327 Italian Abbey.

The post The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/the-name-of-the-rose-by-umberto-eco-book-review/feed/ 0 1661
Lord of the Flies by William Golding https://kristophercook.com/lord-of-the-flies-by-william-golding-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/lord-of-the-flies-by-william-golding-book-review/#comments Thu, 13 Sep 2018 07:00:39 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=1692

Lord of the Flies is a book that examines the shadier side of human nature, the savage brutality of even the most civilised groups.

The post Lord of the Flies by William Golding appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/lord-of-the-flies-by-william-golding-book-review/feed/ 1 1692
Penny Dreadful by Will Christopher Baer https://kristophercook.com/penny-dreadful-by-will-christopher-baer-book-review/ https://kristophercook.com/penny-dreadful-by-will-christopher-baer-book-review/#respond Thu, 30 Aug 2018 07:00:00 +0000 https://kristophercook.com/?p=1586

Following on from Kiss Me, Judas, delirious ex-cop, Phineas Poe heads to Denver to discover that the laws of everything known before have been rewritten, and identities are more mysterious than ever.

The post Penny Dreadful by Will Christopher Baer appeared first on Kristopher Cook.

]]>
https://kristophercook.com/penny-dreadful-by-will-christopher-baer-book-review/feed/ 0 1586